Thursday, April 17, 2008

Singapore Mass Rapid Transit Milestones

SMRT celebrates 20 years of moving with the nation
Nakheel and SMRT Engineering Pte Ltd enter partnership for the operation of The Palm Jumeirah Rail Transit system
SMRT celebrates 100-Millionth passenger milestone at Bukit Panjang LRT

SMRT launches inaugural SMRT Silver Tribute Fund for needy elderly and caregivers
SMRT trains the community in emergency response through the SMRT Community Emergency Preparedness Programme
Citibank and SMRT launch Singapore’s first 2-in-1 Visa and ez-link card
SMRT launches S$142 million mid-life upgrade project for 66 trains
SMRT Taxis launches SMRT SPACE – Singapore’s largest MPV Taxi
SMRT wins the Corporate Governance Award at 7th SIAS Investors' Choice Awards 2006
SMRT launches first regular free shuttle service to Chinatown and Little India

SMRT opens Sembawang Bus Interchange, an integrated transport hub with easy access to bus and train services.
SMRT Buses completes Integrated Bus Operations System which tracks the movement of its buses.
Raffles Xchange was launched to give Raffles Place MRT Station commuters a new lifestyle shopping experience.

Six subsidiaries under SMRT Corporation Ltd adopted the SMRT brand

Changi Airport Station opens for passenger service

Expo Station opens for passenger serviceSMRT launches shuttle train service between Tanah Merah and Expo stations
Dover Station opens for passenger service
Merger of SMRT Corporation Ltd and TIBS Holdings Ltd Pursuant to a Scheme of Arrangement under Section 210 of the Companies Act, Chapter 50

Incorporation of SMRT Corporation Ltd
SMRT signs Memorandum of Understanding for a joint venture to publish and distribute a newspaper for public transport commuters
SMRT Night Rider services commence

Bukit Panjang LRT system opens for passenger service

SMRT signs 30-year Licence and Operating Agreement (LOA) with Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA).

SMRT incorporates Singapore LRT Pte Ltd, a wholly owned subsidiary of SMRT
SMRT marks first ten years of operating the MRT system

Woodlands Extension - comprising 16 kilometres of track and six stations linking Yishun to Choa Chu Kang – opens

Eighth MRT section, Bukit Batok to Choa Chu Kang, opens
Ninth MRT section, Boon Lay, opensSMRT holds official ceremony commemorating the completion of the 67 kilometre, 42-station MRT system

Sixth MRT section, Bugis to Tanah Merah, opens
Seventh MRT section, Simei to Pasir Ris, opens

Third MRT section, Tiong Bahru to Clement, opens.First phase of the MRT system which covers 20 stations is completed
Fourth MRT section, Jurong East to Lakeside, opens
Fifth MRT section, Khatib to Yishun, opens

SMRT incorporated
SMRT and MRTC signs 10-year Licence and Operating Agreement (LOA)
Revenue service for the first MRT section Toa Payoh to Yio Chu Kang, commences
Second MRT section, Novena to Outram Park, opens

No comments: